Former president of Grupo Idea denounces persecution of the elected president of Guatemala – El Sol de México

Twenty-eight former heads of state and government that make up the Democratic Initiative of Spain and the Americas (IDEA Group), published a statement this Saturday in which They denounced the persecution against the elected president of Guatemala, Bernardo Arevalo and the vice president-elect, Karin Herrera.

In the document, it is mentioned that it is aware of the persecution and judicialization of the elected president and vice president of Guatemalaand they point out that this would be with the “repeated and evident purpose of disabling the sovereign manifestation of Guatemalans already expressed in free elections.”

You can also read: Mexico warns of social outbreak in Guatemala

“We alert the democratic governments of the region and to the Permanent Council of the Organization of American States, obliged to act under the terms of the Inter-American Democratic Charter,” the document reads.

They add that “an alteration of the constitutional order that seriously affects the democratic order” is evidently underway, and that is why they renew their support for Bernardo Arévalo de León and Karin Larisa Herrera A., elected leaders.

Furthermore, the support of Arévalo de León and Karin Larisa Herrera A. stands out. Guatemalan Judiciary and to the other powers of the State we remind them that access to power and its exercise in accordance with the democratic and constitutional State of Law It is an essential element of democracy and a guarantee that cannot be circumvented through acts of fraud and manipulation of the law“, they conclude in their statement.

➡️ Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive the most relevant notes in your email

The statement bears the signature of Mario Abdo, from Paraguay; José María Aznar, from Spain; Nicolás Ardito Barletta, from Panama; Felipe Calderón H., from Mexico; Óscar Arias, Rafael Ángel Calderón and Laura Chinchilla, from Costa Rica; Alfredo Cristiani, from El Salvador; Iván Duque M, from Colombia; Federico Franco, from Paraguay; Vicente Fox, from Mexico; Eduardo Frei, from Chile; Osvaldo Hurtado, from Ecuador, Luis Alberto Lacalle, from Uruguay; Mauricio Macri, from Argentina; Jamil Mahuad, from Ecuador; Carlos Mesa G., from Bolivia; Mireya Moscoso, from Panama; Andrés Pastrana, from Colombia; Ernesto Pérez Balladares, from Panama; Sebastián Piñera, from Chile; Jorge Tuto Quiroga, from Bolivia; Mariano Rajoy, from Spain; Miguel Ángel Rodríguez, from Costa Rica; Julio María Sanguinetti, from Uruguay; Luis Guillermo Solís, from Costa Rica; Álvaro Uribe V., from Colombia; Juan Carlos Wasmosy, from Paraguay and the general secretary of IDEA, Asdrúbal Aguiar.

Share this post

Post Comment