Polls close in Argentina to choose the new president – El Sol de México

The urns of the presidential election in Argentina They closed the Jordan this Sunday with what could become the lower participation of the 40 years of the return to democracy after the last military dictatorship (1976-1983).

According to the information provided by the National Electoral Chamber (CNE) at 6:00 p.m. (local time), a 76 percent of the 35.8 million Argentines eligible to vote In this runoff they went to the polls to choose between the official candidate for the Presidency, Sergio Massaand the leader of La Libertad Avanza (ultra-right), Javier Milei.

Minutes later, in a press conference, the Secretary of the Presidency, Julio Vitobello, also cited the figure of 76 percent, although He remembered that there are still citizens inside the voting centers, so “that number is going to rise”.

If this participation is confirmed in the final vote, which is the only one that has legal validity and will be completed next week, it would be the lowest participation since the return to democracy after the last military dictatorship (1976-1983), since would lower that of 2007when 76.20 percent was reached and marked the victory of the Peronist Cristina Fernandez (2007-2015).

In the October general elections, participation reached 77.04 percent, according to the final count.

Some 35.8 million Argentines were called to elect president and vice president in the second runoff in history, after the one held in 2015, when the center-right Mauricio Macri won the victory over the Peronist Daniel Scioli for his Government 2015-2019.

Furthermore, in 2003, the Peronists Carlos Menem and Néstor Kirchner They had to compete in a second round, since none of them obtained enough percentage to win in the first round – 45 percent or a minimum of 40 percent and 10 percentage points over the next leader with the most votes.

However, Menem, who was president between 1989 and 1999, retired and Kirchner, who until then had been governor of Santa Cruz, proclaimed himself president for the period 2003-2007.


Share this post

Post Comment